The Legalists Clothing

Sin makes you do stupid stuff.

When Adam and Eve first sinned in the garden, the first course of action they took was to cover themselves with the work of their own hands. Their eyes were opened…they could see their sin and they tried to hide it.

I think about them a lot. I try to place myself there in the garden after the fall to try and get a sense on what it was like to suddenly be thrown from perfect communion with God. It must have been painful…and pain for them was a new sensation.

I think about them in relation to my own communion with my God. I think I’ve learned something along the way.

Just as my fore parents took it upon themselves to attempt to cover their sin, I think my own legalism is the exact same situation.

When He opened my eyes to my sin for the very first time, it was very painful. It’s hard to accept that all the things the world has taught you about self esteem and self worth is essentialy wrong. The knee jerk reaction is to cover yourself.

For me, I covered myself with my own self righteousness instead of the righteousness of the Lamb.

I’d stick my bible reading, prayer, evangelism, and knowledge over my nakedness to justify myself just as Adam covered himself with the work of his own hands.

I couldn’t have had it more wrong.

God alone has provided the skin of the animal to Adam by which he was to be covered. He has done the same for me.

My clothing is the blood of the Lamb and I see now that it’s going to be a life long fight to stop trying to cover myself.

Like I said, sin makes you do stupid things… even attempting to justify yourself.

It’s actually a fight to do nothing. To lay down arms, surrender, and do absolutely nothing at all but stand there and wear the garment that’s been provided.

About Matthew Blair

Sinner saved by grace.
This entry was posted in belief, christianity, gospel, legalism, sin and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Legalists Clothing

  1. Γειά σας,βάζοντας και εγώ το λιθαράκι μου αρνήθηκα να πληρώσω στα διόδια Κορίνθου προς Πάτρα, πάντα ευγενικά, δηλώνωντας τον αριθμό κυκλοφορίας μου. Με παρακάλεσαν α σταματήσω δεξιά, ήρθε ο επόπτης που ζήτησε στοιχεία, έδωσα μόνο το όνομα μου / προαιρετικά! – και αρ. κυκλοφορίας, και φυσικά αρνήθηκα να υπογράψω!. Η μόνη αντίδραση ήταν η απειλή ότι τη επόμενη φορά θα καλέσει την τροχαία, η οποία ήταν δίπλα (!), αν ήθελε και είχε το δικαίωμα μπορούσε να το πράξει εκαίνη τη στιγμήΘα συνεχίσω να αρνούμαι να καταβάλω τα διόδια, καθώς σχεδόν κάθε εβδομάδα πηγαίνω στι τόπο καταγωγής μου – Κερπινή Καλαβρλυτων – και ελπίζω εάν ποτέ το θέμα καταλήξει σε δικαστήριο/αγωγή να εννωθούμε όλοι μαζί.Όσο για το πνεύμα των σχετικών διατάξεων τησ ΕΕ, ίσως βοηθάει το ακόλουθο, που επισημαίνειΗ οδηγία δεν εφαρμόζεται στα επιβατηγά οχήματα. Σε περίπτωση που επιβάλλουν διόδια στα επιβατηγά οχήματα βάσει της οικείας εθνικής νομοθεσίας, τα κράτη μέλη υποχρεούνται να τηρούν τις διατάξεις της Συνθήκης άρα και για τα επιβατικά ΙΧ η Σύνθήκη ισχύει.Το πλήρες κείμενο απο απάντηση της Ευρωπαϊκής επιτροπής σε ερώτηση ευρωβουλευτών:

Leave a Reply

