Pushing A Shopping Cart

Saying that I have been in a spiritual “funk” for the past 3 or so years now would be an understatement. Some might refer to it as a “dark night of the soul”, some depression, some just a part of the normal happenings on the road to progressive sanctification.

I’ve been very despondent…mostly because the Lord has been leading me gently into a valley where He has been teaching me who and what I am really made of…what my nature really is. I’ve learned a lot about myself in this time… especially the depths of my own sin and depravity.

Today, after a wonderful Lord’s Day service, I had to stop by the supermarket to grab some carrots and a gallon of milk. I grabbed a shopping cart next to where I parked, and as I began to push it, I became overwhelmed with a tremendous sense of forgiveness and wholesome peace…a peace specifically designed to say “All is well between you and I.”

I’ve beaten myself senseless reading and listening to sermons trying to learn more about this time in the Christians life where it seems as though the Lord becomes silent. I’ve gained some good ground this way, but today, for the first time in a loooong time, pushing a shopping cart, I knew all was well with my soul.

Crazy….but such is the King’s highway.

About Matthew Blair

Sinner saved by grace.
This entry was posted in belief, christianity, gospel, thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pushing A Shopping Cart

  1. Matthew,

    Appreciate your honesty and integrity as you’re sharing this journey.

    I’ve been experiencing my own “Dark Night,” yet in the midst of it I have felt God’s sustaining grace.

    I’m rejoicing in the fact that in the common places of our life (like the aisles of a grocery store), God often takes us to the mountaintop to let us know that “All is well . . .”

    It’s a gentle reminder that although we feel burdened by the cares of this present world, although we currently “see through a glass darkly,” we are children of eternity, adopted by a God and a Father guiding us by His love, and forming us into a thing of beauty–even in the midst of our darkest moments.

  2. Chris says:

    Awesome! I think I’ve had a few of those shopping-cart-pushing moments. They’re unmistakable. Blessings to you.

  3. deldobuss says:

    I think so often there is little discipleship amongst Christians during those times it seems God is silent. Maybe it is we don’t want to admit our inadequacies, humble ourselves, and be transparent.

    I have been going through a dark time since my husband went to Iraq last year. He is scheduled to go back in August, and I don’t know what to do to continue in my walk with the Lord.

    Thank you for being transparent and encouraging me in the Lord.

Leave a Reply

