My Advice To A New Believer’s Season Of Barrenness In Gods Word.

When I first came a believer, I devoured the New Testament. I think in the course of 3 months after I first believed, I read it through 3 times. Looking back on it now, I see that was Gods way of instilling into me His word for a future time of barrenness and coldness of my own heart toward that same word. I thank Him for His hand in that.

If you are a new believer, chances are you may be going through pretty much the same thing I went through. You see His word as lovely, wonderful, and truthful. I praise His name for giving such a gift to you. But as you mature or move on in your walk, there will be no doubt times of barrenness when it seems as though Gods word becomes nothing more than a cold slab of marble…just ink on a page.

I would be honored to suggest to you that you do two things.

First, read through the bible in a year ONCE. The objective here is to get a broad view of what scripture says cover to cover. Relate all you read to Christ and Him crucified. You’re in this for the long haul, so just take your time here.

After you read through in a year, re-read at a slower pace for the rest of your natural life….maybe a chapter or two a day using something like the ESV Study Bible. The notes in this bible are wonderful to enrich the soul with love and hope in Christ. But just remember, when using a study bible; Word first, notes second. After you work your way through in this manner, repeat again and again. Allow each chapter to be a piece of bread for each day. Dwell there, meditate there, live there. I would love to see us get out of our American minds that the bible is just another hill to conquer, like it’s just a thing to get done.

While I do agree reading the bible in a year is a good thing, it can often times be counterproductive to your soul…especially in times of dryness. It just becomes another “thing” to check of the spiritual list for the day. Instead, pace yourself. Choose for your daily bread a chapter or two, read careful, prayerfully, and purposefully, and take your time. This slowing down will inadvertently force you into a more contemplative and meditative state of mulling over Gods word for every drop of goodness that it yields. When you take His word seriously and slowly, you’ll be surprised how He shows up.

You must understand that your walk with the Lord, (Lord’s will), will take you the rest of your life until you are good and grey. Take your time and enjoy this gift of His word. Soon, seasons of barrenness in His word will lift and the joy of the Lord will be upon your soul once again. It takes time though. Sanctification is a weekly and monthly process. You will have days of seeming utter bleakness. But you MUST persist.

His word will revive you once more in the sovereignty of our Fathers good hand. His gears move slowly, but they do grind finely.

About Matthew Blair

Sinner saved by grace.
This entry was posted in belief, christianity, depression, hope, truth. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Advice To A New Believer’s Season Of Barrenness In Gods Word.

  1. I take pleasure in, lead to I found just what I was having a look
    for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a great day. Bye

  2. Kina says:

    What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to contribute & assist other users like its

    aided me. Good job.

  3. Ethan says:

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s
    a very easy on the eyes which makes it

    much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a designer to create

    your theme? Excellent work!

Leave a Reply

