ESV Study Bible triangle hack.

For those with an ESV Study Bible in the tru-tone version who want to remove the orange triangle doohicky on the front, or are at least curious on what it looks like without it, here’s how I took it off:

Behold, the triangle doohickythingamajig. (Yes, that’s a theological term, but never mind that now, we have work to do!) Some like it, most don’t. I do not. It bugs me. I have a sharp instrument and I am not afraid to use it.

 

Though I’m fully convinced the good folk at Crossway had the best intentions for this bobble whilst at the meeting for the ESVSB design and layout, it’s execution is less than favorable. You can see here how easily something can catch it and might possible rip it off or at least tear a seam. Rather than wait until it does, I just decided to hack’r off. 

 

Grab a razor blade, X-Acto knife, or some other device of lethal sharpness and cut one seem.

 

Once cut, you can just pull out the remainder of the thread with tweezers.

 

Once the thread is out, peel off the triangle doohickeythingamajigabob. You can see a dab of glue or tape they used to hold it place while the machine stitched it on. COOL!….sort of…in a geeky sorta’way.

The end result.  Yes, you’ll still have the holes left behind from the stitching, but if that bugs you, don’t do it….just keep your little triangle thinga-madoo and live a long fruitful life.

Now open it and read.

This is all personal taste here folks. Please refrain from sending me “your so stupid, you ruined a perfectly good bible” emails…and I, umm, say that in brotherly love. 🙂

About Matthew Blair

Sinner saved by grace.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ESV Study Bible triangle hack.

  1. Josh says:

    Very nice, you wield that X-Acto knife very skillfully!

  2. Pingback: ESV Study Bible fault discovered | The Daily Scroll

  3. Pingback: Five Points of Interest (26-10-08) | Cal.vini.st

  4. JeffrO says:

    Great idea Matthew. Thank you for being courageous enough to try and then post on the blog. I will be doing the same now that I know it is “safe”.

    I’m thinking that the little holes left behind are a darker shade than the Brown Trutone color itself. Might this hack have even better results with the Black Trutone cover? The little holes would be a bit less visible, perhaps.

  5. Phillip says:

    Did it on the black, thanks to your boldness. Looks great, if you look you can see the little holes, but barely. I like the little holes better than the triangle, it made me think of UFO’s and extraterrestrials. Phillip

  6. Douglas K. Adu-Boahen says:

    I like the Bible the way it is.

  7. Shawn Ruth says:

    My best advice is to just get the hard cover. It is cheaper and has no annoying triangle sticking to it.

  8. John says:

    I just received a Black ESV Study Bible today as a gift and was faced with this dilemma, so I googled “removing the triangle from the ESV Trutone Study Bible” – It is true, you can find anything on the Internet!!

    Thanks,
    John

  9. Dawn says:

    Color the triangle black w/ permanent marker. It is less obnoxious than the orange, and looks better than totally removing it.

  10. Ian says:

    Heretic!

  11. Anonymous says:

    Hmmm… I don’t know. I like it; I’ve never had a bible that had the symbol of the trinity instead of the cross.

Leave a Reply

