Welcome to what I struggle violently against.

Peter Cockrell made my day. He posted a GREAT post on prayer and legalism. Man this hits close to home. This post is the very essence on why I even named this blog what I did.

I have a chronic problem of dabbling my works with the righteousness purchased for me on Christs’ cross and prayer and bible study rank up there in the top two thorns in my flesh I wish I could tear out violently.

Here’s an excerpt:

“If my assessment has been accurate, it follows that many of our problems with prayer stem from a failure to understand the relationship of our praying to the ministry of Jesus, including his praying. A wrong perspective on prayer may well come from thinking of it as playing a part in establishing our acceptance with God. Prayer that is not the grateful response of the justified sinner is likely to degenerate into an attempt to gain acceptance. Then again, if the sole motive to pray is, as I have heard it put in sermons, ‘Jesus got up early to pray, so how much more do we need to get up early to pray’, it is missing the grace of God in the gospel. ‘He did it, therefore we ought to’ is not the perspective of the gospel unless it is linked with, ‘He did it for us because we are unable to do it as we ought.’

Pfft…BINGO! Welcome to my heart!!! Black, wretched thing that it is…but thanks be to God.

About Matthew Blair

Sinner saved by grace.
This entry was posted in bible, christianity, love for God, sin and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to what I struggle violently against.

  1. preacherpen says:

    It’s not always easy to pray, but is it supposed to be a walk in the park? Thank God for His mercy and grace which allows us to bring our petitions to the throne of God.

    Thank you for pointing to the fact we should not pray early just because Jesus did. Hopefully, we pray in order to draw closer to the Lord, make our petitions known, hear from God and gain strength for the journey. We pray for mercy and to find grace when it is needed. Thank God it’s available.

    I love what the writer of Hebrews says in 4:15&16 “15 For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin. 16 Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.”

  2. Metalhead says:

    I have the same struggles as you, and appreciate the effort you put into this blog and also appreciate your insight very much.

Leave a Reply

