“Growing In Christ” by J.I. Packer.

I recently began reading “Growning in Christ” by J.I. Packer and remembering Tony Reinke’s review at The Shepherds Scrapbook, I thought I’d echo his sentiment of the broad brush stroke of the Christian life as stated by Packer:

“Being a Christian is a blend of doctrine, experience, and practice. Head, heart, and legs are all involved. Doctrine and experience without practice would turn me into a knowledgeable spiritual paralytic; experience and practice without doctrine would leave me a restless sleepwalker. If Christ is to be formed in me, doctrine, experience, and practice must all be there together” (p. 127).

Also, Packers exposition of the Lords Prayer and how to implement it into your daily prayer time is second to none.

(source)

About Matthew Blair

Sinner saved by grace.
This entry was posted in christianity, love for God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

