Love for the Word of your Master.

Fumbling around in desiringGod’s website, I found this little gem. Piper, writing a letter to his board of elders, is explaining why he wants the ESV translation to be the translation of choice in his church. In doing so, he writes the following.

“I love the Bible the way I love my eyes—not because my eyes are lovely, but because without them I can’t see what’s lovely. Without the Bible I could not see “the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ.” Without the Bible I could not know “the unsearchable riches of Christ.” Without the Bible I would not know that I am a great sinner and that Christ is a great Savior. I love the Bible because it gives the wisdom that leads to salvation, and shows me that this salvation is nothing less than seeing and savoring the glory of Christ forever, and then provides for me inexhaustible ways of seeing and knowing and enjoying Christ.”
(source)

 

 

About Matthew Blair

Sinner saved by grace.
This entry was posted in bible, christianity, jesus, love for God, thankfulness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

