“Gods Own Fool”

card.jpgWe’ve all got songs that seem to always minister to our souls. No matter how many time you play them, it’s always like a new song. “Gods Own Fool” by Michael Card is one of them for me. Time and time again I listen to this song, usually very loud, and it always brings tears to my eyes.

It reminds me continually of what I thought of myself when I was an unbeliever. How I thought I was the bees knees and that the whole idea of religion/faith was just a bunch of foolish nonsense created by men to make them feel better about their lives and explain their surroundings. I had tremendous pride in my own ability to figure things out and propound on all the big issues of science and life.

Well, that is until He made me the fool through the foolishness of His preaching. I look back at that time now and just thank God for so much. Patience with me in the years of my rebellion. Mercy in the times where he could have wiped me out of existence and sent me on my way to my just deserts in hell. Kindness in the days of a broken-heart when I had no love for Him. The verse:

“But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Rom. 5:8

Thanks be to God for His loving kindness and patience with a wretch like me! Below you will find the lyrics to the song “Gods Own Fool”. I hope they are as big a blessing to you as they are to me.

Seems I’ve imagined Him all of my life
As the wisest of all of mankind
But if God’s Holy wisdom is foolish to man
He must have seemed out of His mind
Even His family said He was mad
And the priest said a demon’s to blame
But, God in the form of this angry young man
Could not have seemed perfectly sane
Chorus
We in our foolishness thought we were wise
He played the fool and He opened our eyes
We in our weakness believed we were strong
He became helpless to show we were wrong
So we follow God’s own Fool
For only the foolish can tell
Believe the unbelievable, come be a fool as well
So come lose your life for a carpenter’s son
For a man never died for a dream
And You’ll have the faith His first followers had
And you’ll feel the weight of the beam
So surrender the hunger to save us now
And The courage to say I believe
For the power of paradox opens your eyes
And blinds those who say they can see
Chorus
So we follow God’s own Fool
For only the foolish can tell
Believe the unbelievable, come be a fool as well

Michael Card

About Matthew Blair

Sinner saved by grace.
This entry was posted in music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

